New Delhi: Celebrating 100 years of being the national capital, Delhi would be missing from the trail of ‘jhankis’ (tableaus) to be part of the grand Republic Day parade. While 13 tableaus of different states and 10 of Union Ministries and government agencies would arrive on the Rajpath, Delhi could not make it to the final list as its proposal was rejected in the semi-final selection.

The parade would include exquisite tableaus of states: West Bengal, Jammu and Kashmir, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Meghalaya, Rajasthan, Bihar, Assam, Punjab, Nagaland and Sikkim. Artistes are giving final touches to these tableaus to remind people of the art, culture and heritage related to these states.

In addition, beautiful tableaus of Ministry of Textiles, Human Resource Ministry, Scheduled Castes Department, Central Public Works Department, Finance Department, Agricultural Department, Election Commission, Steel Ministry, Communication and Information Technology Ministry and Ministry of Railways will be exhibited on the Republic Day on January 26.

Making an official announcement of the tableaus, Defence Ministry spokesman Dhananjay Mohanty said, “With the help of these tableaus, we have tried to convey the necessary information regarding the power of science and technology, art, culture and heritage, agriculture and environment.”

He added, “However, the tableaus of states like Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Gujarat, Delhi and Tamil Nadu have been left out this year”.

After a period of 12 years, West Bengal would be displaying its spiritual town Shantiniketan which has been the centre of the universal education of poet and writer Rabindranath Tagore.

On the other hand, the Jammu and Kashmir tableau will convey the message of Hindu-Muslim unity.

Moreover, the Ministry of Railways will exhibit a replica of the Punjab Mail of 1912 era, Information and Technology Ministry will show the simplification of people’s life with the help of information technology in more than six lakh villages of the country.

With Assembly elections lined up in five states, the tableau of the Election Commission will mark the National Voters Day to be celebrated on January 25.