Forty-five contestants in 45 out of total 3,351 wards were declared elected unopposed after the completion of the withdrawal process yesterday, the spokesman said.

Now elections in 3,306 wards in 129 civic bodies would be held on August 17 from 7 am to 5 pm, he said. The counting of votes is on August 20.

The election for chairperson is scheduled for August 21 and for deputy chairperson on August 22, he added.

As many as 37.12 lakh voters, including 17.77 lakh women, are eligible to cast votes in 129 municipal bodies, including Ajmer Municipal Corporation.

For the first time, persons who have at least passed Class X examination are eligible to contest polls as the state government had recently passed an Ordinance to this effect, he said.

Contestants will have to submit an undertaking stating that they have a toilet at their homes with three walls, a door, and roof, according to the ordinance. They will also have to submit a proforma saying that none in the family goes out for open defecation, the official added.

Latest News from State News Desk