Jammu: A total of 12 candidates filed their nomination papers for the election to eight legislative council seats which are going to vacant on March 16 in Jammu and Kashmir. The election will be held on March 7.

Hoping to win six seats, three candidates each from the ruling National Conference and Congress filed their nomination papers before the Returning Officer, while Opposition PDP nominees filed papers for two seats.

The NC fielded Showkat Hussain Ganai, Abdul Majeed and Devinder Singh Rana, while the Congress gave tickets to Muzzafar Parrey, Naresh Kumar Gupta and Rani Billoria.

In a clear indication of political infighting in the Jammu and Kashmir Congress, Mohammad Amin Bhatt also filed nomination papers. Shuban Krishan Dodha, Mohammad Amin Bhat and Sardar Kaloo Khan Humdard field their nominations as independent candidates.

An independent candidate or a candidate of an unrecognized political party requires ten proposers from the constituency for filing nomination papers.
The clear picture will emerge on Tuesday after scrutiny of nomination papers. February 21 is the last for the withdrawal of the nomination papers.

Jammu and Kashmir assembly council has a total of 36 seats.


Latest News from Jammu and Kashmir News desk