Under the rule, any member named by the speaker shall ‘stand automatically suspended from the service of the House for five consecutive sittings or the remainder of the session whichever is less.’

Out of the 12, Nimalla Kristappa, Modugula Venugopala Reddy, Konakalla Narayan Rao and Nirmalalli Sivaprasad are from the TDP. Savarshri A Sai Prathap, Anantha Venkatrami Reddy, L Raja Gopal, Magunta Sreenivasulu Reddy, V Aruna Kumar, GV Harsha Kumarm, Bapi Raju Kanumuru and Sabbam Hari represent Congress.

The members have been protesting against the creation of Telangana carved out of Andhra Pradesh. After being adjourned twice on Friday, the Speaker read out the name of 12 MPs and said, "I name you under rule 374 (A). You may forthwith withdraw from the precincts of the house."

It should also be mentioned here that Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kamal Nath on Thursday had moved a motion to suspend 10 out of the 12 members.


Latest News from India News Desk