New Delhi:  The Central Vigilance Commission has recommended imposition of major penalty against 121 central government officials for alleged corruption.

Of the total 121 officials, a highest of 16 are from State Bank of India followed by 15 each from Ministry of Railways and Ministry of Power and 11 each from Central Board of Excise and Customs and Vijaya Bank.

Besides, five officials each from Central Board of Direct Taxes and Oriental Bank of Commerce, four each from Allahabad Bank, Punjab National Bank, State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur, Employees Provident Fund Organisation, Oriental Insurance Company Limited and three from Indian Bank were also penalised, the anti-corruption watchdog said in its monthly report of January.

The chief technical examination wing of the commission effected recovery to the tune of Rs 2.25 crore after inspecting public procurement and other works carried out by government departments during the month, the report said.

Of the 394 cases dealt by the CVC, minor penalty was slapped on 88 officials; administrative action, warning, censure etc were issued to 49 officials and 136 others were closed, it said.

Two officials each of Ministry of Commerce, Syndicate Bank and one each of Bharat Sanchar Nigam limited, Bharat Coking Coal Limited, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas, Indian Council of Agricultural Research and Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs were also advised major penalty for their alleged involvement in graft.