Mumbai: In a major bureaucratic reshuffle, Maharashtra government on Wednesday transferred 122 police officers and appointed new Police Commissioners in Pune and Navi Mumbai.

Senior IPS officer G D Pol has been posted as Pune Police Commissioner. Pol, who was Special IG (Law and Order), will replace Meeran Borwankar, who will take over as Additional Director General (Prisons).

The transferred officers include 23 of DIG-Commissioner level, 28 of Additional Director General level and 71 of SP-Deputy Commissioner level, a spokesperson for Maharashtra Home Minister R R Patil said.

IPS officer Deven Bharti, who was Additional Commissioner of Police (Crime) in Mumbai, will replace Pol.

Osmanabad Superintendent of Police D R Karale has been transferred and appointed Director (Vigilance) in Excise Department.

Navi Mumbai Police Commissioner Ahmed Javed has been shifted as Additional Director General (Establishment) in Mumbai. A K Sharma, now Additional Director General (Training), will succeed Javed.


Latest news from State News Desk