Kolkata: Swept by Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee’s wave of ‘change’, 1298 candidates out of 1,792 contesting assembly elections for 294 constituencies lost not only in polls but they lost their security deposits also  in the recently held West Bengal elections.

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) said, “Among 1,792 candidates only 294 contestants won the elections, the rest 1498 being the unsuccessful candidates. Out of the unsuccessful candidates, only 260 were able to save their security deposits while 1298 forfeited their security deposits.”

Among the 1,298 such unsuccessful candidates, 279 candidates are from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), 150 from Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and three each from the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) and Trinamool Congress.

BJP had fielded candidates in 289 assembly constituencies.

In order to save security deposits, more than one-sixth of the total number of valid votes polled in their respective constituencies is required.

The three unlucky Trinamool Congress candidates who lost their deposits include Sheikh Jalaluddin from Chopra constituency in North Dinajpur, Gautam Chakraborty from Malatipur in Murshidabad and Kritan Chandra Mahato from Joypur in Purulia district.

Meanwhile, three CPI-M candidates lost their deposits from three constituencies of Darjeeling, as they failed to secure not more than 16.66 percent of the votes.

In Kalimpong, CPM's Bikram Chhetri secured 2.49 percent while his party colleagues KB Wattar from Darjeeling and Deepa Chhetri from Kurseong could secure only 3.49 and 2.75 percent of votes, respectively.

Those whose security deposits have been forfeited also include candidates from the Congress as well as from regional parties like the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and the Socialist Unity Centre of India.