Srinagar: Sixteen candidates on Friday filed their nomination papers before the returning officer Srinagar for two of the four Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Council seats for which elections will be held in December.

"As many as 15 candidates filed their nomination papers before Divisional Commissioner Kashmir Asgar Hassan Samoon who is also Returning Officer for conducting the election for two seats of the Council from Kashmir Constituency of Panchayat quota," an official spokesman said.

One candidate has filed his nomination papers before Deputy Commissioner, Baramulla who is Assistant Returning Officer for the election, the spokesman said. Prominent among the candidates who filed their nomination forms include Ghulam Nabi Monga of Congress, Ali Mohammad Dar of National Conference, Peer Mohammad Hussain and Yasir Reshi of PDP, besides eight Independent candidates and two candidates of NPP and one candidate from BJP, the spokesman said.

Today was the last date for submission of nomination forms while these forms shall be scrutinised on November 17. The last date for withdrawal of nomination is November 19 and the poll, if necessary, is scheduled to be held on December 3.


Latest News from Jammu and Kashmir News desk