Rijiju made the announcement while attending a meeting with senior officials at Delhi Police headquarters. Rijiju said that 10 male and 10 female police officers each will be inducted into the Delhi Police from Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and Sikkim.

At present, only 39 policemen from the northeastern states are serving with Delhi Police. Of these, 10 are Indian Police Service officers while the rest are either constables, head constables or inspectors.

He also gave an assurance about the complete implementation of the Bezbaruah committee recommendations.

The committee headed by M.P. Bezbaruah, Member of the North Eastern Council, was set up in February 2014 after a 19-year-old student from Arunachal Pradesh, Nido Tania, died in Delhi Jan 29, 2014.

The committee's mandate was to listen to the issues raised by people from northeast India living in other parts of the country, especially in metro cities. The committee was also asked to suggest measures which could be adopted by the government of India.

The committee filed its report with the ministry of home affairs July 11, 2014.

Rijiju along with some home ministry officials visited the Delhi Police headquarters on Tuesday morning and discussed the problems of the northeast people with senior police officers.

He appreciated the Delhi Police for taking several steps for the safety of northeast people residing in the capital.

Following incidents of racial attacks on people from the northeast, Delhi Police set up a special 24x7 helpline number - 1093 - to register complaints.

At least 34 people from the community, including professionals and students, were appointed as helpline representatives and issued identity cards by Delhi Police to work with them.

According to the report by the North East Support Centre and Helpline (NESCH), more than 200,000 people from the northeast are living in the national capital, of whom around 50 percent are females.

Latest News from India News Desk