Of the 14 candidates who filed their nominations on the last day, nine filed their papers for Charkhari seat in Mahoba and five for Pharenda in Mahrajganj, officials said.
With this, a total of 19 candidates - 12 in Charkhari and seven in Pharenda - are in the fray for the by-election to these seats, they said.
Counting of votes will take place on April 15, they said.
The election to these seats was necessitated following disqualification of then MLAs Kaptan Singh Rajput (SP) from Charkhari, and Bajrang Bahadur Singh (BJP) from Pharenda.
While the former was disqualified after being convicted by court in a murder case, action on the latter was taken for getting government contracts being an MLA.
However, BJP has once again fielded Bajrang Bahadur Singh from Pharenda as its candidate claiming that though he had been disqualified, the commission had not put a ban on his contesting again.

Latest News from Uttar Pradesh News Desk