New York: Columbia University professor and economist Jagdish Bhagwati and noted author Amitav Ghosh are among 19 persons winning the Light of India awards recognizing excellence and the exemplary achievement of Indians living abroad.

Winners for the awards instituted by Remit2India, a Times Group online money transfers unit, were announced at the 2nd annual awards function here on Saturday.

The winners: Lifetime Achievement Awards: Columbia University professor; economist, Jagdish Bhagwati, founder CEO of Patni Computer Systems, Narendra Patni and former CEO of Vodaphone Group - Arun Sarin.

Jury and People's Choice Awards: Excellence in Business Leadership: Bharat Desai, founder of Syntel and Gurbaksh Chahal, internet entrepreneur and a best-selling author.

Excellence in Science & Technology: Pradeep K. Khosla, dean of the College of Engineering, Philip & Marsha Dowd University professor at Carnegie Mellon University and Sabeer Bhatia, co-founder of Hotmail Service, Jaxtr.

Excellence in Corporate Leadership: Anshuman Jain, co-CEO of Deutsche Bank and Padmasree Warrior, chief technology officer of Cisco Systems.

Excellence in Education & Academics - Deans & Presidents: Renu Khator, president of the University of Houston (both categories).

Excellence in EducationAcademics- Scholars & Professors: Soumitra Dutta, Roland Berger chaired professor of business and technology and founder and academic director of e-lab and Mohanbir Sawhney, director of the Centre for Research in Technology & Innovation at Kellogg School of Management.

Excellence in Literature & Journalism: Amitav Ghosh and Indu Sunderesan, both authors.Excellence in Arts & Entertainment:  Padma Lakshmi, host of 'Top Chef' and Lisa Ray, actor and host of 'Top Chef' Canada.

Special Awards: Amrapali Young Achievers award: Gurbaksh Chahal, chairman & CEO of RadiumOne.

Power of Influence in Education award: Satish K. Tripathi, University of Buffalo President,Power of Influence in Technology award: Ajay V. Bhatt, co-inventor of USB Technology.


Latest News from India News Desk