Mumbai: Skipper Eoin Morgan led England's stunning comeback with an unbeaten 26-ball 49 as the visitors snatched a nerve-wracking last-ball victory to win the second Twenty20 International against India and level the two-match series 1-1 at Mumbai on Saturday.


Needing three off the last ball, Morgan hit Ashok Dinda for a straight six to seal the match in England's favour by six wickets at the Wankhede Stadium.
England required nine off the last over, thanks to the 26-year-old Morgan's relentless onslaught that saw him smash five fours and two sixes.
Chasing a challenging target of 178, England were provided a blistering start by openers Michael Lumb and Alex Hales, who put on 80 runs for the first wicket in just over eight overs.
Lumb smashed 50 off a mere 34 balls while Hales made 42 off 33. But after their efforts, the show belonged to Morgan.


England needed 23 off the last two overs and managed 14 of them against Parvinder Awana.
The visitors, who opted to chase after winning the toss, were helped by a wayward Indian bowling attack and a shoddy fielding display that enabled the openers to score quick runs.
Apart from Lumb – who hit six fours and two sixes – and Hales, who had made a quick-fire 56 off 35 balls in the first match, skipper Morgan and Jos Butler (15 off seven balls) contributed significantly to England's successful run-chase on a good batting track.
For India, Yuvraj Singh was the lone bowler to succeed with another excellent spell of three for 17, following his match-winning effort of three for 19 in the first match at Pune where England lost by five wickets.
Yuvraj got the wickets of the two openers and Luke Wright (5), but did not get the desired support from the other bowlers. The worst performers were Awana and Piyush Chawla.

The rival teams:

India: M.S. Dhoni (Capt.), Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Piyush Chawla, Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun and Parvinder Awana
England: Eoin Morgan (Capt.), James Harris, Jonny Bairstow, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Butler, Jade Dernbach, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Stuart Meaker, Samit Patel, Joe Root, James Tredwell and Luke Wright.
On-field umpires: S Ravi and Vineet Kulkarni
3rd umpire: Sudhir Asnani
Match Referee: Jeff Crowe.


Latest News from Sports News Desk