India began the day at overnight score of 130 for four but lost the remaining batsmen for just 72 runs to concede a huge 301-run lead.

However, their pace bowlers -- Mohammed Shami and Zaheer Khan -- reduced the Black Caps to 15 for four at lunch with their fiery spells. The hosts now lead by 316 runs, after opting not to enforce the follow-on as 10 wickets fell in an eventful morning session.


Looking to make use of the new-ball, (2/11) came out firing, with wickets of both the openers. He trapped Hamish Rutherford leg before for a first-ball duck off the last ball of the very first over of the innings, and then, two overs later, he had Peter Fulton caught driving at cover, where Ravindra Jadeja took a regulation catch.
Jadeja was once again in action in the sixth over, when he took a screamer of a catch to send back in-form Kane Williamson, off Zaheer Khan (1/4).

This was a second stunning catch by the all-rounder after his effort to dismiss Brendon McCullum in the first innings. Jadeja was not done yet, running out the New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum (1) in another brilliant fielding display as lunch was taken.  McCullum was given a life in the eighth over, when Murali Vijay dropped a dolly at first slip.
Earlier, after bad light had stopped play early on day two, the match began 30 minutes earlier this morning. Rohit Sharma (72) and Ajinkya Rahane (26) were looking to spend more time at the crease after stopping the collapse on the previous evening.

Under-fire Ishant ‘very happy’ with his bowling performance

But New Zealand bowled to a plan, pitching the ball up regularly to the two batsmen, who were guilty of looking for drives without settling in.  As a result, in the sixth over of the morning, Rahane edged to first slip, off Tim Southee and the downfall began.

Tough to get momentum back once you're down: Gambhir on NZ tour

In the next over, Rohit too played a poor shot, attempting a drive, and was bowled by Trent Boult. He top-scored with 72 runs, facing 120 balls, with eight fours and one six, but that wasn’t enough on this day.

India: M S Dhoni (c), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Chesteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Zaheer Khan and Ishant Sharma.
New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (c), Peter Fulton, Hamish Rutherford, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, BJ Watling, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner and Trent Boult.


Latest News from Sports News Desk