New Delhi: The Congress, which is trying to regain its lost political ground in Uttar Pradesh, released its first list of 73 candidates for the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections 2012.

In order to take on the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), the Congress has struck a balance between candidates based on region and caste. It has issued 21 party tickets to Dalits, 15 to backward classes, 12 for Brahims, nine to Rajput and eight for Muslims.
Bundelkhand’s famous Gulabi Gang leader Sampat Pal will yet again contest elections under a Congress ticket.

Considering the BSP as its major contender in the upcoming polls, the Congress is trying to woo the Dalit vote bank and has issued tickets to 21 Dalit candidates.

Apart from its 20 secured seats, the Congress has even allocated party ticket on general seats to Dalit candidate, Madhav Paswan, from Chauri Chaura.

The Congress, in its first list itself, has finalised the tickets to all the sitting party MLAs.

The party is also eyeing to further develop its backward class vote bank post Beni Prasad’s inclusion in Congress leaving the Samajwadi Party.

Meanwhile, observing the disenchantment of the Brahmin community against the Mayawati-led UP government, the Congress issued 12 tickets to candidates from this community.