Apart from these, 16 sitting MLAs and MLCs and Deputy Speaker of JK Assembly have also filed their nominations, an spokesperson in State's Election Department said here.
"As the process of filing of nomination ended yesterday, a total of 209 candidates have filed their nomination papers for the second phase of Assembly elections to be held on December 2, covering as many as 18 constituencies in several districts of the State including Kupwara, Kulgam, Reasi, Udhampur and Poonch," the spokesman said.

The four ministers of Omar Abdullah government who would be contesting in this phase are Ajaz Khan (Cong) from Gool Arnas, Mir Saifullah (NC) from Kupawara, Choudhary Mohd Ramzan (NC) from Handwara and Sakina Itoo (NC) from Noorabad Assembly constituency.
Giving details about the nominations, the spokesman said eight each candidates have filed their nominations for the Karnah, Kulgam, Humshali Bugh, Devsar, Chenani Assembly seats; 10 for Lolab; 11 for Gulabgarh; 12 each for Kupwara, Handwara, Langate, Gool Arnas, Udhampur, Ramnagar, Surnakote; 15 for Haveli, 16 for Mendhar and 17 each for Noorabad, Reasi, Assembly constituencies.

The last date for withdrawal of nominations is on November 17.


Latest News from State News Desk