Ranchi: Jharkhand High Court on Sunday ordered dismissal of 22 ADJs (Additional District Judge), who were appointed for Fast Track Courts in 2001 even though there was no vacancy.

After hearing a PIL filed by a social activist Prabhat Kumar, a bench comprising of Chief Justice Bhagawati Prasad and Justice D N Patel passed the order. The petitioner has contended that despite no vacancies the posts were advertised and these judges were appointed.

Additional Judicial Commissioner, Raj Mahal, S K Jha, Fast Track judges Arun Kumar Singh, Girish Chandra Sinha, A K Dubey, Ashok Kumar Mishra, Additional Judicial Magistrate Ashok Kumar Singh and Sub-judge Dhirendra Rai of Bokoro court were some of the judges who were among the 22 dismissed by the HC.