Prominent among the candidates for the first phase are Jharkhand Rural Development Minister Krishna Nand Tripathi (Congress-Daltonganj), PCC President Sukhdeo Bhagat (Lohardaga-ST), sitting MLAs Kamal Kishore Bhagat (AJSU- Lohardaga), Sudha Choudhary (JDU-Chhatarpur-SC) and Radha Krishna Kishore (BJP-Chhatarpur).
Former Assembly Speaker Inder Singh Namdhari fielded his son Dilip Singh Namdhari from Daltonganj as an Independent.
Continuing his faith in democracy, former MP Kameshwar Baitha, who shunned the path of left-wing extremism, also filed his papers from Chhatarpur (SC) on Samajwadi Party ticket.
Former Agriculture minister and BJP leader Satyanand Bhokta, who joined Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantric) after being denied ticket, filed his papers from Chatra (SC) seat.

BJP gave the ticket to Jaiprakash Singh Bhokta from the constituency.
RJD's state unit President and former minister Girinath Singh is also in the fray for the first phase from Garhwa.
Former ministers Bhanu Pratap Sahi (Navjawan Shangharsh Morcha) and Ramchandra Keshri (JVM) have filed papers from Bhawanathpur seat.

Latest News from Jharkhand News Desk