The nomination papers were rejected late on Friday, leaving 29 people in the fray, officials said on Saturday. After a 15-hour long scrutiny that gave anxious moments to even the politically seasoned, the election office found the papers of most contestants okay and approved their candidature.

Prominent faces now in the fray from the state capital include Javed Jaaferi from Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Rajnath Singh (BJP), Abhishek  Misra (Samajwadi Party), Nakul Dubey (BSP) and Rita Bahuguna Joshi  (Congress). Other than contestants from the national parties, 10 independents are also left in the fray.

Lucknow goes to polls on April 30.There is a Supreme Court directive that all columns should be duly filled and "on scrutiny we found that 28 candidates had omitted lots of columns and information", said deputy district electoral officer RK Pandey.

 Fourteen candidates from other registered parties are also in the fray.


Latest News from Uttar Pradesh News Desk