The hosts rode on the two openers, Quinton de Kock (106) and Hashim Amla (100), to pile up 280 for six in the allotted 49 overs before bundling out the hapless visitors for 146 in 35.1 overs on a gloomy day at the Kingsmead.
The famed Indian batting, which had been in tremendous form in sub-continental conditions, found the going tough against the South African pacemen, who tested them with pace and bounce. Suresh Raina (36) was the only batsman to show a bit of resistance, even as the rest surrendered meekly.
The match was reduced to 49-overs per innings due to wet outfield.
Facing a chaseable target, the Indian top order melted in the wake of some superior fast bowling from Dale Steyn and a nagging line-length bowling by Lonwabo Tsotsobe, who shared seven wickets between them. This was after de Kock and Amla shared an opening stand worth 194 runs. Amla, in the process, crossed the 4000-run mark in ODI, the quickest to do so in 81 matches and beating Sir Vivian Richards' marker of 88 ODIs.
Steyn once again unleashed great pace on the Indian top-order, peppering Shikhar Dhawan and later Virat Kohli. The former was first to fall, in the 2nd over, going after a delivery just outside the off-stump and was out caught at point. He fell for a duck, facing only two balls. Thereafter, after their war of words in the build-up to the match, Steyn welcomed Kohli to the crease with a sharp bouncer.
The Indian vice-captain didn't last long enough to give a proper response, edging Tsotsobe to the keeper, while he was trying to guide a delivery to third man. The ball moved away just a touch at the last minute, enough to kiss the open face of his bat and Kohli returned to the pavilion for a duck. Pretty much, all Indian hopes faded with his departure.
Ajinkya Rahane had come into the side for Yuvraj Singh (suffering from a back spasm) and tried to rebuild the innings with Rohit Sharma.
Rahane looked relatively comfortable against Morne Morkel, introduced into the attack in place of Steyn. At the other end, Rohit too got off to a start, unlike in Johannesburg, and scored 19 runs off 26 balls. He hit two boundaries, the second of them a crisp slash past point.
Two balls later, he pulled one off the same bowler, only for Amla to take a stunning catch at short mid-wicket. Within five runs of each other, in a space of six deliveries, Rahane was gone as well, chasing a wide delivery off Morkel and getting a faint edge. He scored 8 runs off 17 balls, with a solitary four, even as the Indian top-order collapsed again, reduced to 34 for 4.
The match was pretty much done, except for an improbable comeback by the remaining batsmen. Skipper MS Dhoni and Raina started in that fashion, but the wind blew away those hopes soon enough. The rain clouds had started gathering and South Africa started going through their overs very quickly, in order to get the 20-over stipulation under D/L method done.
In that time, Dhoni and Raina put together 40 runs, when Vernon Philander (coming in for Wayne Parnell) induced a thick outside edge and de Kock pulled off a stunning catch going to his right. Dhoni was gone for 19 runs off 31 deliveries, and any fight from the batting was officially gone.
Raina continued to knock the ball around, and ran up a score of 36 runs. He faced 50 delivers, and hit three fours, and was dismissed off another brilliant catch. Raina made room for a slap-cut shot off Morkel, but Miller pulled it out of thin air to send him on his way.
Ravindra Jadeja (26) and Ashwin (15) milled around for a bit, before Steyn came back to rock the tail. He snapped up Ashwin and bowled Umesh Yadav (1), while Tsotsobe accounted for Jadeja and Mohammad Shami (8), to wrap up the proceedings.
Tsotsobe finished with 4-25 from 7.1 overs, while Steyn snapped 3-17. Morkel (2-34) and Philander (1-20) were the other wicket-takers.
Earlier in the day, because of wet outfield, the match was delayed for nearly 90 minutes. Dhoni once again opted to field first after winning the toss. South Africa too made a change, bringing in Philander. India made three changes in a bid to reverse the result from the first ODI. Yuvraj was out due to a back spasm and Rahane came in for him. Both Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohit Sharma were dropped after a poor showing in the previous match, and Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma replaced them in the XI.

The Teams (From):

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav.
South Africa: A B de Villiers (c), Hashim Amla, Quniton de Kock†, Jacques Kallis, JP Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabe Tsotsobe


Latest News from Sports News Desk