Scorecard: Sri Lanka vs India

Resuming at the overnight score of 140 for three, the hosts were cruising along comfortably with Mathews (102) and Lahiru Thirimanne (62) adding 127 runs for the fourth wicket before losing seven wickets for a mere 65 runs on an engrossing third day's play.

The hosts were bowled out for 306 shortly after the tea break with leg-spinner Amit Mishra being the pick of the bowlers with figures of 4/43 in 21 overs.

Mishra was well complemented by Ishant Sharma (2/68) and Ravichandran Ashwin (2/76) as they turned the tide just when it looked like Sri Lanka were on course of a decent first
innings total.

India lost first innings centurion KL Rahul (2) in the very first over being bowled by Dhammika Prasad but Murali Vijay (39 batting) and Ajinkya Rahane (28 batting) ensured that there were no further setbacks by taking the score to 70 for one and extending the overall lead to 157 runs.

The highlight of the third day's play was Mathews' sixth Test hundred as he gave ample display of his batting class and showed that he is ready to take over the mantle of their top batsman from the retiring legend Kumar Sangakkara. His innings had 12 boundaries in all.

With two full days left, India will push for a series levelling win by setting a big target for the hosts on a tricky fifth day P Sara Oval track. The track which has already shown signs of wear and tear with the spinners getting enough turn to make batting difficult on the final two days.

The first session belonged to Sri Lanka as they went into lunch at 224 for three with Mathews batting on 72 and Thirimanne was undefeated on 57. But it was Ishant, who turned the complexion of the game with his post lunch spell.


Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Stuart Binny, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews (captain), Jehan Mubarak, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhammika Prasad, Rangana Herath, Tharindu Kaushal, Dushmantha Chameera.

Latest News from Sports News Desk