Colombo: Sri Lankan captain Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and elected to bat in the second and final Test against England at the P. Sara Oval in Colombo on Tuesday.

England, trailing 1-0 in the series, need a win to retain their number one position in the Test rankings. A draw or a loss will see them slip to second spot behind South Africa.

The tourists went in with a three-man seam attack, bringing in Tim Bresnan and Steven Finn to partner James Anderson with the new ball. Spinner Monty Panesar was dropped, while Stuart Broad has flown home with a calf injury.

Sri Lanka made two changes from the side that won in Galle, as a fit-again Angelo Mathews and Dhammika Prasad returned in place of Dinesh Chandimal and Chanaka Welegedara.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (Captain.), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara, Thilan Samaraweera, Angelo Mathews, Prasanna Jayawardene, Suranga Lakmal, Suraj Randiv, Rangana Herath, Dhammika Prasad.

England: Andrew Strauss (Captain.), Alastair Cook, Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Samit Patel, Matt Prior, James Anderson, Tim Bresnan, Steven Finn, Graeme Swann.