"The applications, including from former MP and APCC vice-president Bishnu Prasad, Kirip Chaliha, Anowar Hussain and Barnenda Bhattacharjee, have been received by the APCC office here," party spokesman Bichitra Choudhury said.

"It is not the norm to submit applications for nomination to Rajya Sabha. The selection of the candidates for the Rajya Sabha seats will be announced tomorrow in New Delhi after the party high command takes a decision on the nominees," Choudhury said.

The AICC has called Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi and APCC president Bhubaneswar Kalita to New Delhi to join a meeting on Saturday to finalize its nominees for February 7 poll, sources said.

The three Rajya Sabha MPs retiring are Bhubaneswar Kalita, Biren Baishya (AGP) and Biswajit Daimary (BPF).


Latest News from India News Desk