Cracking the whip, Speaker Meira Kumar suspended them for the rest of the Monsoon session which concludes on Friday.
As soon as the House met for the day, TDP members N Kristappa, M Venugopal Reddy, KN Rao and N Sivaprasad walked into the well to protest against the announcement to create Telangana.
Sivaprasad took out a mask of former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi and wore it and raised slogans for a united Andhra Pradesh.
Congress MPs from Andhra Pradesh- A Sai Pratap, Anantha Venkatrami Reddy, N Rajagopal, Magunta Srinivasulu Reddy and K Bapi Raju also trooped into the well carrying placards which said ‘Jai Samaikyaandhra’ and ‘We want united Andhra Pradesh.’ They shouted, "We want justice".
On August 23, 12 members - including these nine MPs – were suspended for five days under the same rule.
When some Congress members were on their feet protesting against Sivaprasad wearing the mask, he removed it. The House witnessed exchange of words between TDP and Congress MPs.
Speaker Meira Kumar named the nine MPs and suspended them under Rule 374-A for the remaining five days of the monsoon session. "You may forthwith withdraw from the precincts of the House," she said.
The Speaker then adjourned the House till 2 pm. The action came in the wake of media reports, which said that the process of formation of Telangana would gain momentum once the session is over.
The Speaker suspended the MPs at a time when Lok Sabha has a heavy legislative agenda including Pension Fund Regulatory and Development Authority Bill, Securities Laws (Amendment) Bill and Right to information (Amendment) Bill.
Besides, the House is yet to take up a discussion on measures for relief and reconstruction in the wake of natural disaster in Uttarakhand.


Latest News from India News Desk