Baramulla constituency, from where National Conference sitting MP Sharief-ud-din Shariq is locked in multi-cornered contest, recorded 39.6 percent polling while Ladakh registered a poll turn out of 65 percent to choose their representative among the four candidates in the fray.
Baramulla had recorded a voter turnout of 41.84 percent in the 2009 Lok Sabha polls, while Ladakh had recorded a poll turnout of 71.86 percent five years back.
"The tentative voter turnout for the Baramulla Parliamentary constituency is 39.6 percent, while Ladakh constituency registered a voter turnout of 65 percent," Chief Electoral Officer of Jammu and Kashmir Umang Narula told reporters.
The voter turnout figures might change as last reports from some of the polling stations are yet to be received, he said.
In Baramulla constituency, Kupwara district registered the highest voter turnout of 63.19 percent followed by Bandipora district at 35.65 percent.
Baramulla district recorded a voting percentage of 25.04 percent. The constituency has a total of 11,96,120 electorate including 5.45 women, Narula said.
Among the 1,59,631 voters in Ladakh constituency, Kargil district led in the voting turnout with 65.80 percent casting their ballots. Leh district which is also part of the constituency witnessed a turnout of 64.0 percent, he said.


Latest News from Jammu and Kashmir News Desk