Polling began peacefully at 7 AM in the three constituencies where 5,09,689 voters, including 2,44,543 women, are expected to exercise their franchise in 588 polling stations till the closing time of voting at 5 PM, it said.

Both constituencies 9-Silchar and 90-Jamunamukh recorded 47 percent polling each, while 13-Lakhipur seat registered 54 percent voting.

Arun Dutta Majumdar (Congress), Dilip Kumar Paul (BJP) and Nur Ahmed Barbhuyan (AIUDF) are the prominent contestants among 12 in Silchar, while former Congress MLA Dinesh Prasad Goala's son Rajdeep Goala (Cong), Mukesh Pandey (AIUDF) and Sanjay Thakur (BJP) are notables among eight contestants in Lakhipur.

Jamunamukh has AIUDF president Badruddin Ajmal's son Abdur Rahim Ajmal, Bashir Uddin Laskar (Cong) and Bilal Uddin (BJP), besides two others in the fray.

The bye-election was necessitated following the election of Silchar Congress MLA Sushmita Dev and Jamunamukh AIUDF MLA Mohammad Sirajuddin Ajmal to the Lok Sabha during the last general elections.

The death of sitting Congress MLA Dinesh Prasad Goala necessitated by-poll in Lakhipur.

Counting of votes will be on September 16, the Election Office added.

Latest News from State News Desk