Virat Kohli opted to field

Opting to field after winning the toss, India bowled out Zimbabwe for a paltry 144, and then chased down the target with 115 balls remaining at Queens Sports Club.


Debutant Mohit Sharma got two for 26

For India, leg-spinner Amit Mishra scalped three wickets for 25 runs, while debutant Mohit Sharma (2/26) and Ravindra Jadeja (2/28) picked up two apiece. Mohammed Shami and Jaydev Unadkat also accounted for one wicket each.
Rohit Sharma (64 not out) and Suresh Raina (65 not out) were the two main contributors with the bat as the visitors extended Zimbabwe's winless run.
Raina return to form

Raina struck six fours during his 71-ball knock while Rohit found the fence five times and cleared it once during his 90-ball innings.
Chasing a small total, India suffered an early blow as they lost debutant Cheteshwar Pujara with the scoreboard reading 23 for one in the 10th over. 
Pujara fails to make an impressive debut 

The 25-year-old Saurashtra player was bowled by Tendai Chatara while trying to go for a drive to an incoming delivery only to see his leg-stump getting uprooted. Glimpses of the batsman's talent was evident as he creamed Michael Chinouya for two boundaries through the off-side before being dismissed.
Pujara's wicket was the lone success Zimbabwe tasted as Raina along with Rohit shared a second-wicket partnership of 122 runs to take India home. Playing sensible cricket, the duo of Raina and Rohit brought up the fifty partnership in 61 balls.
While Raina was flashier of the two, Rohit looked content playing second fiddle to the left-handed batsman who has not been in the best of form in recent times.

Rohit played matured innings     

Adopting a careful approach, Rohit however did not miss out on the loose balls. Brian Vitori's wide half-volley was spanked through cover point and then guided Prosper Utseya through the same region.

At the other end, Raina was playing freely after he got into the groove with a square-driven boundary off Chatara's bowling.
In the next over, Raina stepped out of the crease to loft Utseya straight over his head. The off-spinner was then played towards the long-of region for another four.
Earlier, barring an 80-run sixth wicket stand between Elton Chigumbura (50 not out) and Malcolm Waller (35), Zimbabwe had very little to show for in their batting effort as they were bowled out in 42.4 overs.

Teams (from):
India: Virat Kohli (capt), Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Mohammed Shami, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohit Sharma.
Zimbabwe: Brendon Taylor (capt), Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams, Malcolm Waller, Elton Chigumbura, Brian Vitori, Prosper Utseya, Michael Chinouya, Tendai Chatara.


Latest News from Sports News Desk