Scorecard: Australia vs India

Electing to bat on a hot and sunny day, the hosts rode on a 200-run opening stand between David Warner (101), who recorded his third ton in the series, and Chris Rogers (95) to once again expose the toothless Indian attack.

After a strong opening show, Shane Watson (61 batting) and captain Steven Smith (82 batting) ensured that Australia stay on the saddle by stitching a 144-run unbeaten third wicket partnership on what turned out to be a frustrating day for the Indians at the SCG.

It was another pathetic bowling display by the Indians who lacked penetration while their consistency also left much to be desired right through the series.

Warner, who was one of the players to witness the freak accident on November 25 at this venue, was in control from the very start and slammed his 12th Test century after lunch.

The Indian bowlers have conceded over 500 totals three times in the series. They have so far given away a whopping 2674 runs,including today's first day total, and have managed to take 49 Australian wickets in the series so far. The strike rate has been a disappointing 54.57 runs per wicket till now.

Playing their first game at the SCG after the passing away of teammate Phillip Hughes six weeks back, an emotionally charged  Australia reacted by scoring runs at a fast clip to demoralise the opposition attack.

Rogers though got an early reprieve after Lokesh Rahul dropped the left-handed batsman at second slip off Mohammed Shami (1-58). The opener was on 19 and made full use of the 'life'.

Warner, who was one of the players to witness the freak accident on November 25 at this venue, was in control from the very start and slammed his 12th Test century after lunch.

Rogers, who always played match-up with his aggresssive partner at the other end, also batted with assurance only to be denied his century. He scored his fifth fifty of the series. India though struck back after the first session by sending back the openers in quick succession but Smith and Watson had other ideas.

Smith notched up his 10th Test half-century while Watson recorded his 24th fifty in the longest format to deny India any more celebration in the day.

Ravichandran Ashwin (1-88) got Warner back in the pavilion after inducing a leading edge to gully where Murali Vijay made no mistake. Shami finally got a wicket after Rogers followed his partner in the over after, inside edging a lenght ball on to his stumps.

India though got another chance of getting a wicket but Ashwin let Watson's edge fly past him at first slip off Umesh Yadav (0-97) on the penultimate ball of the day.

Earlier, after lunch, it looked to be a long day in the field for the visiting side, who despite improving their bowling in the second session still conceded too many runs.

Warner-Rogers continued scoring as the 150-run mark came up in the 34th over of the innings and two overs later. At 158/0, they had surpassed the highest opening stand of 157 runs they had previously put together against England at Perth in 2013.

In the 42nd over then, Warner brought up his hundred off 108 balls. It was an emotional celebration for the left-hander as he looked up at the skies and paid tribute to Hughes.

Three overs later, he brought up the 200-mark for Australia and within only three hours of play.

Ashwin then got the prized wicket of Warner and with an economy rate of 2.89, the spinner had looked the only bowler in some control against the rampaging partnership. It became a double blow for Australia as in the very next over, Shami bowled Rogers, an inside edge robbing him of a deserved hundred.

Afterwards, Smith and Watson batted with solidity and avoided any further losses while part-time off-spinner Suresh Raina too turned his arm over.

Making just one change to their playing XI after bringing in Mitchell Starc for the injured Mitchell Johnson, the hosts were unchanged in their dominating style of play.

India though made wholesale changes with Kohli opting for Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Wriddhiman in place of Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ishant Sharma and Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Kumar's inclusion though did not solve the bowling woes as Warner and Rogers put on 39 runs in the first 5 overs, the scoring rate zooming past seven-an-over.

It was only with Shami's introduction into the attack that the scoring rate came down. The Bengal medium-pacer was also unlucky after Rahul dropped a sitter at slip and Rogers, rubbed salt into Indian wounds with a boundary off the very next delivery, bringing up the 50-run mark came up in the 8th over.


Steve Smith (captain), Chris Rogers, David Warner, Shane Watson, Shaun Marsh, Joe Burns, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon.

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Rohit Sharma Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Lokesh Rahul,  Wriddhiman Saha, Ravi Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Latest News from Sports News Desk