New Delhi: The 60th National Film Awards 2013 was announced in New Delhi on Monday.

Critically acclaimed Paan Singh Tomar was named the best feature film. Tigmanshu Dhulia-directorial even won the best actor's trophy for Irrfan Khan, who essayed the role of a national level athlete who went on to become one of the most dreaded dacoits of Chambal Valley. The best actor's trophy is shared by Vikram Gokhale for Marathi film "Anumati", while the best actress honour went to Usha Jadhav for her performance in "Dhag", also in Marathi.

The prestigious awards for 2012 were announced by filmmakers Basu Chatterjee, Aruna Raje and Swapan Mullick. In the feature film category, a total of 38 films from 14 languages have been selected for the awards.

The official ceremony is slated for May 3.

Here are the highlights -

National award for best film under popular film category – Vicky Donor

Best feature film award – Paan Singh Tomar

Best actor in feature film category – Irrfan Khan for Paan Singh Tomar

Best screenplay award – Sujoy Ghosh for Kahaani

Best actor award - Irrfan Khan for Paan Singh Tomar and Vikram Gokhale for Marathi film Anumati

Best supporting actor – Annu Kapoor for Vicky Donor

Best supporting actress - Dolly Ahluwalia for Vicky Donor and Kalpana for Malayalam film Thanichallanjan

Best actress award – Usha Jadhav for Marathi film Dhag

Indira Gandhi award for best debut film of a director - Chittagong and Malayalam movie 101 Chodiyangal

Best popular film for providing wholesome entertainment - Vicky Donor and Malayalam project Ustad Hotel.

Best director award - Shivaji Lotan Patil for Marathi film Dhag

Best choreography award - Birju Maharaj for Vishwaroopam

Special jury award - Rituparno Ghosh for Bengali film Chitrangadha and Nawazuddin Siddiqui for Kahaani and Gangs of Wasseypur, Dekh Indian Circus and Talaash

Best film on social issues – Malayalam film Spirit

Best child artist category - Virendra Pratap for Hindi film Dekh Indian Circus and Minon for 101 Chodiyangal

Best male playback singer award - Shankar Mahadevan for Bolo na from the film Chittagong

Best female playback singer award - Samhita for Palakein naa moon don from the Marathi film Aarti Anklekartikekar

Best screenplay writer (original) award - Sujoy Ghosh for Kahaani

Best screenplay writer (adapted) award – Bhavesh Mandalia and Shri Umesh Shukla for the film OMG: Oh My God!

Best dialogues award - Anjali Menon for Malayalam film Ustad Hotel

Best lyrics award - Prasoon Joshi for Bolo na from the film Chittagong

Actress Parineeti Chopra won a special mention for her performance in Ishaqzaade for her convincing delineation of a daredevil girl, and so did Tannishtha Chatterjee for Dekh Indian Circus.


Latest News from India News Desk