Bangalore: Millionaire candidates have a formidable presence in the Karnataka Assembly polls scheduled to be held on May 5. Out of the 1,052 candidates in fray, 681 or 65 percent are millionaires.

The average asset per candidate among them is Rs 9.07 crore, according to Karnataka Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms which have analyzed self-sworn affidavits of 1,052 out of the 2,948 contesting candidates.

The candidates belong to BJP, Congress, JD (S), Karnataka Janata Party led by former Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa, BSR Congress of former minister B Sriramulu, Loksatta Party (LSP) and a few independent candidates, mostly outgoing MLAs.

According to the analysis, the average asset per candidate for Congress (217 analyzed candidates) is Rs 21 crore. For JD (S), (215 analyzed) the average is Rs10 crore, for BJP (218 analyzed), it is Rs seven crore and for KJP (197 analyzed) the average is Rs two crore. For BSRC (171 analyzed) and LSP (22 analyzed) the average is Rs 1 crore.

The top three candidates with highest declared assets are (in decreasing order): Congress' Priyakrishna from Govindrajnagar Constituency with declared assets worth Rs 910 crores followed by his party colleagues N Nagaraju from Hosakote Constituency with assets worth Rs 470 crore and Anil Lad from Bellary City with assets worth Rs 288 crores.

Among the 215 candidates analyzed for JD (S), K Bagegowda from Basavanagudi constituency has declared total assets of Rs 250 crores. From BJP, the highest assets of worth Rs. 118 crores have been declared by NS Nandiesha Reddy who is contesting from KR Pura.

Out of 1052 candidates, 61 candidates have declared assets less than Rs 1 Lakh.


Latest News from State News Desk