New Delhi: The nomination process for the election to the Delhi Municipal Corporation (MCD) has picked up pace. On the fourth day of filing nominations as many as 73 candidates of different parties submitted their papers. Up till now, 140 candidatures have submitted their papers in 272 wards.

On Thursday Avinash Sharma of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) filed nomination from Vasant Vihar (ward 165), Ashubala from Safadarjung Enclave (ward 165), Zameel Ahmed from Zakir Nagar (ward 205), Kaushar Khan Azad from Okhala (ward 206) and Kamal Kishore(Independent) from Madanpur Khadar.

From eastern Delhi 12 candidates have filed their nominations. From ward 213 Kalyanpuri Omprakash from ward 215 Kondli Pankaj and Prerna have entered the battle field. Others in the list are-Furkan Ahmed  from Ghaurali (ward 216), Vinod Kumar Nigam from Kishankunj (ward 221), Charu Jain from Pandav Nagar (ward 224) and Ashok from Vishwas Nagar (ward 226). For Dilshaad Colony (ward 240) two nominations were filed by Inderjeet and one each by Zaheer Mohammed and Mohammed Ali.

From north eastern part of the city Urmila has filed nomination for Sundar Nagari (ward 244), Farhat Sultana and Seema Begum (ward 249), Shahbaaz (ward 251), Mohammed Saleem (ward 259), Yaduvesh Nandani (ward 253), Padamchand, Ramesh Kumar and Harish Kumar (ward 254).

Meanwhile from north western region 18 candidatures were filed and eight from south west.