The Grand Secular Alliance with 41.9 percent votes got 178 seats in a House of 243 while the NDA with 34.1 percent votes could get only 58 seats, final election data tonight showed.

Lalu Prasad's RJD with 18.4 percent votes bagged 80 seats to emerge as the single largest party while Nitish Kumar's JD(U) garnered 16.8 percent votes to notch 71 seats.

They both contested 101 seats. Congress, the third partner in the Grand Secular Alliance, fared creditably winning 27 of the 41 seats it contested. It polled 6.7 percent votes.

The BJP, which contested 157 seats, polled the highest number of votes(24.4) but could bag only 53 seats.

The Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, NCP and the AIMIM, which contested the Bihar assembly polls, have failed to make an impact with their vote share getting restricted to 2 percent or below.

BSP, which contested all the 243 seats, managed 2.1 percent of the total votes polled. The NCP, which walked out of the 'grand alliance' over seat allocation, had contested 40 seats. Percentage-wise, its vote share was 0.5 per cent.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), which contested in six seats mainly in the Muslim-dominated Seemanchal region, drew a blank and managed 0.2 percent of the total votes polled.

Latest News from State News Desk