Chandigarh: A high 79 percent of the 3.14 lakh voters sealed the fate of 37 candidates who are in the fray for the by-elections to the Adampur and Ratia Assembly constituencies in Haryana which ended peacefully on Wednesday evening.

Official sources said here that 81.84 percent of the 1.76 lakh voters sealed the fate of 16 candidates who were in fray for the Ratia assembly seat in Fatehabad district. The polling was 3.85 percent more as compared with 2009 general election to the state assembly when the voter turnout was 77.99 percent.

The voter turnout in Adampur assembly constituency in Hissar district, however, declined by 5.38 percent as 75.79 percent of the 1.37 lakh voters sealed the fate of 21 candidates. In the 2009 general election the polling percentage was 81.17, the sources said.

The polling in both the constituencies was peaceful and remained brisk since morning when the voting process commenced.

Congress has fielded former legislator Kulbeer Singh against Renuka Bishnoi, wife of HJC-BL Chief Kuldeep Bishnoi and INLD's R S Baswana, who retired as Sessions Judge from Kaithal in August.

Adampur has remained a citadel of former Haryana Chief Minister late Bhajan Lal and his family. Lal himself won the seat on nine occasions while his son Bishnoi resigned from the
seat last month after his election to the Lok Sabha from Hisar, thus necessitating the bypoll.

In Ratia segment in Fatehabad district, INLD fielded Sarfi Bai against Congress' former MLA Jarnail Singh and Mahavir Prasad of the newly former alliance of BJP and HJC.

Gian Chand Odh of the INLD represented Ratia in the state Assembly and his death in September necessitated the by polls. The party has fielded his widow Sarfi from the seat.

As many as 16 candidates including ten Independents are in the fray in Ratia constituency and 21 candidates including 13 Independents in Adampur.

A total of 1,37,949 electors including 63,169 female voters in Adampur Assembly constituency and 1,76,129 electors including 83,125 female voters in Ratia Assembly constituency are eligible to exercise their franchise.

The counting of votes in both the constituencies would take place on December 4.

Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda has thanked the people of the two constituencies for the peaceful poll process, an official release said here.