Bhopal: A high turnout of around 80 percent was recorded in Tuesday’s bye-election to Maheshwar Assembly constituency in Khargone district of Madhya Pradesh.

Rajkumar Mev of BJP and Devendra Sadho of Congress are prominent contenders for the seat.

The bye-election was necessitated after Vijaylaxmi Sadho, who defeated her nearest BJP rival Rajkumar Mev by over 650 votes during the 2008 Assembly polls, resigned after her election to the Rajya Sabha.

The counting of votes will be held on June 15.


Latest news from Madhya Pradesh News Desk