Shatrughan Sinha (67): He is considered as one of the most unconventional actors in the Hindi cinema. Shatrughan Sinha, who proved his mettle before cameras in the entertainment industry by delivering hit films like ‘Dost’ and ‘Kalicharan’, was given the nick name ‘Shotgun’ due to his unique style of dialogue delivery.

Sinha, who is a senior leader in Bharatiya Janata Party is a two-time Rajya Sabha member and also held the portfolio of the Union cabinet minister of health and family welfare and shipping. He was elected to 15th Lok Sabha in 2009.

In the last Lok Sabha polls, he defeated another well-known actor and Congress candidate Shekhar Suman from Bihar’s Patna Saheb seat.

He is also trying his luck by contesting with the same seat in the 16th Lok Sabha elections.

Vinod Khanna (67): He started his Bollywood career by playing the role of an antagonist in ‘Mann Ka Meet’, directed by Sunil Dutt in 1968, and eventually went to establish himself as a leading actor in Hindi film industry.

The grapevine was abuzz with reports of rivalry of Vinod Khanna and Amitabh Bachchan.

In 1997, he joined the Bharatiya Janata Party and also got elected thrice from Gurdaspur Lok Sabha constituency in Punjab.

Vinod Khanna, who was the Union minister of culture and tourism also served in the external affairs ministry during the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance regime.
He however lost the 2009 general elections and is again contesting from Gudaspur this year.       

Raj Babbar (61): He has been active in the Hindi film industry since 1977. The actor-turned politician was earlier a member of Mulayam Singh Yadav-led Samajwadi party and later joined the Congress.

He won four consecutive elections and also defeated Dimple Yadav (daughter-in-law of Mulayam Singh Yadav) from Firozabad seat in the 2009 Lok Sabha by-election.
This time, he is trying his luck from Ghaziabad on Congress ticket in a triangular contest against BJP’s VK Singh and Aam Aadmi Party’s Shaiza Ilmi.

Smriti Irani (38): She achieved much accomplishment and recognition with her performance in the popular soap-opera ‘Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi’.

Later in 2003, she joined BJP. Irani lost in the Delhi’s Chandni Chowk seat against Congress leader Kapil Sibal.

She was the president of BJP Mahila Morcha. In 2011, she was appointed as the Rajya Sabha member and is contesting the upcoming elections against Rahul Gandhi from Amethi and AAP’s Kumar Vishwas.  

Hema Malini (65): Popularly known as ‘Dream-Girl’, Hema Malini, started her Bollywood career with ‘Sapno ke Saudagar’ (1968) and acted in more than 150 Hindi films.
After campaigning for BJP’s Vinod Khanna in 1999 Lok Sabha elections, she formally entered politics in 2003-04 by joining hands with the saffron party.

She was also elected as the Rajya Sabha member and since then, she kept on participating in BJP’s election rallies and campaigns.

Hema Malini was elected as the BJP general secretary in 2011. Her husband and actor Dharmendra had already won from Bikaner constituency on BJP ticket and she is contesting elections from Mathura seat this time.

Sunil Dutt (1929-2005): One of the most popular actors of his era, Sunil Dutt joined the Congress in 1984.

He represented the Mumbai’s North-West constituency and scripted a winning record by notching up five consecutive victories.

His daughter, Priya Dutt, a Congress leader, is contesting the 2014 Lok Sabha polls from Mumbai North West constituency.  

Manoj Tiwai (41): After creating his niche as a singer and an actor in the Bhojpuri film industry, Manoj Tiwari has entered into politics.

He however lost the 2009 Lok Sabha elections from Gorakhpur in Uttar Pradesh. This year, he is contesting the elections on BJP ticket from North East Delhi.