New Delhi: Union Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee on Friday has written a letter to the Chief Ministers of 16 states in connection with the rollout of Aadhaar enabled payments for various centrally-sponsored government schemes.

The Chief Ministers to whom the finance minister has written letter include the chief ministers of Kerala, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tripura, Goa, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Delhi, Puducherry, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh and Maharashtra.

He has reminded that had mentioned in his budget speech that the Aadhaar platform is ready to support payments under various schemes directly to the beneficiaries' accounts. So far, fifty districts have been identified in the aforesaid 16 states/union territories for this purpose.

The initiative will empower the common citizen and would curb the expenditure.


Latest news from India News Desk