The party finalized the name of Mahinder Yadav, presently a councillor in the South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC), as its candidate from Vikas Puri.
Yadav was associated with BJP for over a decade and was also general secretary of the party's OBC cell. He actively participated in Anna Hazare's agitation at Jantar Mantar and Ramlila Ground in New Delhi.
He quit BJP in 2012 to contest the municipal elections as an independent candidate. Similarly, Deshraj Raghav, an independent councillor in SDMC, will be the AAP candidate for the Uttam Nagar seat.
Raghav had a long association with Congress and even held the post of general secretary of the party's Najafgarh district chapter. He left the party last year and won in the municipal polls as an independent candidate.
The Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP would be fielding Veena Anand, a social worker as its candidate from Patel Nagar (reserved) seat. AAP has announced a total of 56 candidates, including sportsman-turned-actor Praveen Kumar, well-known for playing the role of Bheem in the teleserial 'Mahabharat'.
Meanwhile, in a bid to ensure greater participation by people in the electoral process, AAP has also got into the process of preparing its poll manifesto. The party has decided to prepare separate manifestos for the 70 Assembly seats which would be based on local issues and problems.


Latest News from State News Desk