"The chief ministerial candidate would be projected only if situation demands before the polls. Right now we have not decided whether to announce the CM candidate or not," AAP national executive member, Dinesh Vaghela, told reporters on Tuesday while announcing the names of its nominees.

The Arvind Kejriwal-led party said it would field Walmiki Naik, party's state secretary, from Panaji constituency. Former Goa unit chief of Shiv Sena, Ajit singh Rane, who recently joined AAP, will contest from Mayem seat. A businessman Cruz Silva would be in the fray from Velim constituency, while tribal leader Molu Velip will contest from Shiroda constituency.

Responding to queries if the party would name a CM face, he said, "After the announcement of all the 40 candidates, we can think about the issue of CM candidature."

Vaghela said the process to announce all the 40 candidates would be completed by the end of October. AAP has already announced that it will be contesting all the 40 constituencies without joining hands with any other party.

Latest News from State News Desk