37 MLAs supported Dhir while BJP candidate Jagdish Mukhi got the support of 32 MLAs from his party. Immediately after his election to the post, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and BJP leader Harshvardhan greeted Dhir and wished him good luck.

READ MORE: Kejriwal's AAP government wins confidence vote in Delhi Assembly

"I congratulate you from the core of my heart and hope that you will keep the prestige and the tradition of the assembly intact," said Vardhan.

The pro-tem speaker conducted a voice vote twice following objections by BJP MLAs. The minority Aam Aadmi Party government yesterday had crossed the first hurdle in the Delhi Assembly when its confidence motion sailed through easily with the backing of the members of Congress, JD (U) and an independent.


Latest News from State News Desk