The election symbol of "broom" will now be reserved for the AAP in Delhi. Elsewhere in the country, its candidates will also get the benefit of contesting under the ‘broom" symbol’.
The recognition to AAP, which is in the process of deciding on whether to form its government in Delhi with Congress support, came after it fulfilled the Election Commission’s criteria in this regard.

As per laid norms, a party may be recognised by the Election Commission if it wins at least three percent seats, subject to a minimum of three seats and at least six percent of total valid votes.

READ MORE: Delhi stalemate: AAP gets 5.35 lakh responses, to hold meetings from today
The AAP has outperformed on this criterion in the Delhi assembly polls where it won 28 seats in the 70-member House and took over 25 percent vote share.

The BJP got 32 seats, including one seat won by its ally SAD. One seat was won by JD-U and one by an independent. The Congress won only eight seats.


Latest News from India News Desk