Among the ten candidates announced on Wednesday, former BSP corporator and former deputy mayor of South Delhi Sahi Ram and BJP councillor Kartar Singh Tanwar, both of whom had recently joined AAP, have been named.

Shastri, who joined the AAP after its spectacular debut performance in Assembly elections last year, has been fielded from Dwarka. The former Apple executive, who was party's Lok Sabha candidate from Allahabad, is one of the leading strategists and brains behind formulating the party manifesto and funding.

Sahi Ram, former deputy mayor from South Delhi Municipal Corporation and sitting corporator, has been fielded from Tughlakabad. Sahi Ram, who recently joined AAP, had contested Delhi Assembly election last year and had lost to BJP's Ramesh Bidhuri by 6,000 votes.

Kartar Singh Tanwar, a BJP corporator who had joined AAP, will contest from Chattarpur. The party has fielded Rituraj Jha from Kirari and Praveen Kumar from Jangpura seat, which was earlier represented by M S Dhir, former Speaker of Delhi Legislative Assembly, who joined BJP last month.

Jha has been associated with party chief Arvind Kejriwal since the India Against Corruption (IAC) movement days while Kumar is in-charge of frontal organisations of the AAP. From Laxmi Nagar, the party has fielded Nitin Tyagi, AAP's in-charge of east Delhi. The Laxmi Nagar seat was held by
 former AAP legislator Vinod Kumar Binny, who was expelled for "anti-party" activities. SK Bagga will contest from  Krishna Nagar.

Ved Prakash, Shiv Charan Goyal and Sharad Chauhan have been fielded from Bawana, Moti Nagar and Narela respectively. AAP has now announced a total of 45 candidates for the elections. It had earlier put out two lists comprising 35 candidates which include 18 of its former MLAs and 6 ministers.

Latest News from State News Desk