Bhopal: The Bharatiya Janata Party’s student wing Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has made a clean sweep in the University student union elections in Madhya Pradesh by winning the president post in all the 7 universities in the state.

The Congress’ student wing National Students Union of India (NSUI) somehow managed to win 3 seats. The Congress candidates were routed despite the MPCC president Kanti Lal Bhuria writing to all the state leaders to participate actively in the election.

The Shivraj Singh Chauhan government had announced university elections on the recommendation of Lyngdoh Committee. The Student Council in the University has been constituted after 25 years.

The ABVP had won 80 percent seats in the college level elections held on September 23.

The university polls were conducted on basis of the direct election system. Several factors like marks obtained by the candidates in the examination and their performance in the sports and cultural activities were the some of the major issues around which the election was fought.

Only those candidates, who had won University delegate seats, could file their nominations for University student union elections.