Eviction notices are being served on about 20 former ministers and 120 ex-MPs asking them to clear out of their government accommodation after Urban Development Minister Venkaiah Naidu okayed the proposal to start the proceedings in that regard last Friday, said sources in the UD ministry.

The government had, as per the law, allowed the former ministers and MPs time till June 26 after the formation of the NDA government. However, the deadline was extended to July 26 following pleas from many of the former ministers and MPs. Naidu has ruled out any more extensions.
Sources said steps will be taken by the Directorate of Estates to vacate the bungalows and flats occupied by the former ministers and MPs within a week of the notice being served on them.
The former ministers and MPs who lost in the elections are not entitled to government accommodation and have to move out. Those former ministers who are Members of Rajya Sabha have to move to suitable accommodation from their current addresses.
While former minister Chiranjeevi has to vacate his House for Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Rajya Sabha member AK Antony and Rajeev Shukla have to move to suitable accommodation from their current Type-VIII bungalows allotted to ministers.
They have to move to their new houses, which are to be alloted by the Rajya Sabha secretariat, sources added.
Many ministers and newly-elected MPs are still putting up at state bhawans and Ashoka Hotel, waiting for allotment ofaccommodation in the Lutyens' zone.
While Lalu Prasad has been given extension till October this year, family members of the late Sisram Ola would be allowed to stay till next year.
Mallikarjun Kharge has been allowed to retain his house till a decision on the Leader of Opposition is taken, they said.


Latest News from India News Desk