Gilchrist received his commemorative cap from Cricket Australia Chairman and ICC Director Wally Edwards, in front of a large and appreciative crowd as England and Wales Cricket Board Chairman and ICC Director Giles Clarke, WACA Chairman and Vice-President Sam Gannon, and WACA President and ICC Cricket Hall of Famer Dennis Lillee looked on.
"Gilchrist has become the 71st male member of the Hall of Fame, and is the second 2013-14 inductee to be announced after Waqar Younis," the ICC said in a statement.
After Richie Benaud, Allan Border, Don Bradman, Greg Chappell, Ian Chappell, Neil Harvey, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Rodney Marsh, Keith Miller, Bill O'Reilly, Steve Waugh, Victor Trumper, Clarrie Grimmett, Frederick Spofforth, Alan Davidson, Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne, Gilchrist is the 19th male Australia cricketer to be inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.
Gilchrist, who was born in Bellingen, New South Wales in
1971, was one of Australia's most prolific wicket-keeper batsmen, having represented the country in 96 Tests in a career that spanned 12 years.
He amassed 5,570 Test runs and claimed 416 dismissals from behind the stumps for Australia, while he captained the team on six occasions.
Gilchrist scored 17 Test centuries and 26 half-centuries while his best performance with the bat was against South Africa in Johannesburg in 2002 when he scored 204 not out in an innings that saw Gilchrist hit 19 boundaries and eight sixes.


Latest News from Sports News Desk