Mumbai: The Review Committee set up by the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB), on nuclear power safety, is scheduled to meet on March 31 in the wake of Fukushima nuclear incident following massive earthquake and tsunami in Japan.

The 10-member committee headed by former chairman of AERB S K Sharma, will examine all the currently operating 20 reactors to find whether they can withstand severe earthquakes and other external events beyond their design, AERB officials said on Monday.

The committee will also submit an interim report to AERB, said Chairman S S Bajaj.

Asked whether any timeline has been fixed, he said, "We have not fixed any timeline for the interim report as the Fukushima Daichi incident is still unfolding."

The Committee members include Prof B N Goswami of Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology (Pune), S K  Chande, Vice-Chairman AERB, I D Gupta, Director, Central Water and Power Research (Pune), Prof C V R Murthy from IIT Chennai, A K Ghosh, Director, Health and Safety of Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, S A Bharadwaj, Director (Technical), Nuclear Power Corporation of India, R Chowdhury, former Director, Reactor Group, BARC, A G Chhatre, Associate Director, Safety analysis and Seismology Group of NPCIL, and L R Bishnoi, Head, sitting and structural engineering group of AERB.