New Delhi: Congress president Sonia Gandhi's political secretary Ahmed Patel, CPI-M Polit Bureau member Sitaram Yechury and six other newly elected members took oath in the Rajya Sabha on Friday.

Patel, re-elected unopposed from Gujarat, took oath in Hindi, while Yechury, re-elected from West Bengal, did so in English.
TV artiste Smriti Irani and Dileep Pandey (both BJP) took oath in Gujarati. They have been elected from Gujarat.

From West Bengal, Trinamool Congress leaders Debabrata  Bandhopadhyay, noted quiz-master Derek O' Brien, Sukhendu Shekhar Roy and Srinjoy Bose, and Congress leader Pradip Bhattacharya took oath in Bengali.

Welcoming them, Chairman M Hamid Ansari hoped "they will contribute significantly to the Parliamentary proceedings and enhance the prestige of the House."

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was present when the members took oath.