Lahore: The Pakistan Football Federation has named Adnan Farooq Ahmed the captain of the national team for the two-match series against India, which will be played in the United Kingdom in September.

The PFF confirmed the two matches would be played at Derby on September 3 and in Glasgow on the 11th.

The Pakistan squad, whose preparations have been badly hit due to heavy rains and loadshedding here, will leave for London on Saturday.

Adnan, in his statement, said that he felt honoured to be captaining Pakistan after nine years as a professional footballer.

"My first colour was back in 2006 and since then I can say I have been fully committed to represent Pakistan and have always put country over club. I have seen a big effort to improve football in Pakistan and there are positive signs showing in the younger players. I believe a collective effort from locals and international Pakistanis can help football rise quickly in the country," he said.

Head coach Tariq Lutfi admitted that it would be a tough series for his young team as their preparations were not held according to schedule because of rains, loadshedding and Ramazan.

"But we will try to give it our best shot because this is a series that can lift the profile of football in Pakistan and I am sure it will be watched by thousands of people as it is being televised live," Lutfi said.

He said any match against India in any sport was always bound to be exciting and close.

The PFF and the All India Football Federation have announced that the September 3 match will be dedicated to the memory of the three Pakistani youth who were killed in the recent riots in Birmingham.

The Pakistan squad for the series: Muhammad Umer , Yousuf Butt and Jahangir Khan (Goalkeepers), Adnan Farooq (Capt and Midfielder), Haji Mohammad, Alamgir Khan, Manzoor Ahmed, Ahsanulah, Shabbir Khan and Atif Badar, Faisal Iqbal (Defence), Saddam Hussain, Mehmood Khan, Muhammad Adil, Kaleemulah, Mohammad Ali, (Midfielders), Husnain Abbas, Mohammad Rizwan Asif, Syed Arif Hussain, Hassan Naveed Bashir, Rehan Munir (Forwards).