The by-poll was necessitated following the resignation of DMDK MLA Panrutty S Ramachandran, who had quit the Vijayakant-led party before joining AIADMK recently.

The Election Commission had announced yesterday that the bypoll would be held to the Alandur constituency along with the Lok Sabha polls in Tamil Nadu on April 24.

AIADMK has 150 MLAs in the 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly.


Latest News from State News Desk