"We are launching the industry first on roaming, which is applicable to South India.... We have a uniform roaming tariff across South India....; this service will be applicable for existing and new customers of Aircel, whether on prepaid or on postpaid," Aircel Karnataka Circle Business Head Kanwarbir Singh told reporters here.

The offering announced under 'Five States, One Rate' scheme requires no separate recharge or pack activation and will be activated by default with effect from June 11, 2015.

It will enable all existing and new prepaid and postpaid Aircel customers, to roam freely on Aircel network between the five states of Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Tamil
Nadu and Kerala, the company officials said.

Aircel customers in South traveling between these states will incur no incoming call charges and outgoing calls will be charged at a minimal rate of only 1 paisa per second for both local and STD calls.

All SMS and pocket internet packs will remain unchanged and customers can continue to use them as per their already applicable rates and packs, they added.

Latest News  from Business News Desk