The election results were declared on Monday, after counting of votes for three days. The post of president, vice-president, general secretary and joint secretary all went to AISA.

Akbar Chaudhary was elected president, Anubhuti Agnes vice-president, Avadesh Kumar general secretary and Sarfaraz Hamid was elected joint secretary to the central panel of the JNU Students' Union (JNUSU).

AISA also won 14 of the 26 councillor seats. The Students' Federation of India, AISA and Democratic Students' Federation were the major players in the polls. The National Students Union of India and the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad had also fielded their candidates. In 2012 too, leaving the post of president, all three posts were won by AISA.


Latest News from State News Desk