The 75-year-old Jat leader is the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) president and has never lost an election since 1999 from Baghpat. BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi had campaigned in Baghpat.

Satyapal Singh was once an officer on special duty to Ajit Singh, son of former prime minister Charan Singh.

During Indian general election, 1991, Ajit was reelected to Lok Sabha from his constituency, Baghpat. He briefly served as Minister of Food in P. V. Narasimha Rao's cabinet. Ajit Singh again was elected to parliament from Baghpat, in 1996.

He lost from his constituency in 1998. He then formed his own party, Rashtriya Lok Dal, and was reelected to parliament from Baghpat in 1999, and has not lost the seat since then.


Latest News from State News Desk